Province History

The Eastern Province, as a defined region of the Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc., traces its origin to 1925. Earl B. Dickerson, the fifth Grand Polemarch of Kappa Alpha Psi, appointed John Miller Marquess the first Eastern Province Polemarch following the adjournment of the 15th Grand Chapter Meeting in December 1925.

Brother Marquess was a charter member of the Langston-Oklahoma City Alumni Chapter in 1922 and the third president of the Langston University [1916-23]. At the time of his appointment, he was pursuing an advanced degree at Columbia University and a member of the Columbia University Chapter, the Omicron of Kappa Alpha Psi.

The boundaries of the Province have by no means been constant. In 1925, the Province included chapters as far north as Boston, MA and as far south as Washington, DC. During the tenure of Dr. James E. Allen, the fifth Eastern Province Polemarch [1933-34], the northern border was New York and the southern border was Durham, NC. However, for most of its existence, the area comprising the Eastern Province has been the state of Maryland, the District of Columbia and the commonwealth of Virginia. Today, the territory also includes the island of Bermuda.

The Eastern Province Khronical Downloads, Click on the Date Below:

2016 Pillar of the Province Awardees

Congratulations to Brother Douglas Scarbor and Brother Keshon Kelly for outstanding achievements in their careers, exemplary service to the community, and tireless commitment to ONE KAPPA!

2016 Pillars

Bro Douglas Scarbor (left) & Bro Keshon Kelly (right), 2016 Pillar of the Province Award

2015 Pillar of the Province Awardees

Bro Rawle Andrews, Pillar of the Province Award

Bro Rawle Andrews, 2015 Pillar of the Province Award

Bro Giles, Pillar of the Province Award

Bro Danny Giles, 2015 Pillar of the Province Award